The End of NaNoWriMo 2012

Well, it is the end of the month (and a few days) and I have survived yet another NaNo. Barely.

1: Keep up with NaNo and use the blog to keep track, maybe even give a six sentence snippet with each post.

Final word count is 50,226.

I just barely got to that and the last few thousand words, I thought I might have repeated myself a time or two. This year was a little more difficult because the characters were speaking to me a few months ago when I thought of the idea. Yet once I started writing, they went quiet. And mid-month, I sort of started to hate what I was writing. I wasn’t pleased with the flow or how things went so slow that I had to throw in stuff just to make it more interesting to me to write. It’s going to be put away and I’ll just let it simmer. I might bring it out at some point and rewrite parts of it and pull the story out like I wanted to so that I like it again.

2: Work more on expanding the world that I’m basing my story on. (Most people would do this as prep, you know before NaNo. Not me, OH No!).

With the way things were with this past NaNo, I’m taking a bit of a break from writing steampunk. I’ve been writing it as NaNo for the past two years and I think I’m pushing too much on it so I’m going to write Fantasy, Urban Fantasy or horror to give myself a break and then come back a little more fresh to tackle the world building I need.

3: Keep to the blogging 3x a week (Mon/Wed/Fri).

Eh, this was up and down this month and then I had gone on vacation and didn’t have constant access to the internet since I was visiting my family. I’m going to try to pick it up again now. Never mind that December is just as busy with things as November is.

4: On top of NaNo, keep up with the flash fiction contests all week.

Umm.. I did half the flashes I usually do. I’ll take that small amount of success.

5. Actually pulling out my older NaNos and work on editing them, even if it is a page at a time.

This didn’t happen as much as I would have liked.

So far, my first #WriteMotivation goals…didn’t happen as much as I would have liked them to and that is on me. I read some of the blogs but when it comes to commenting, I never know what to say than “That’s great” or “yeah, me too!” I need to work on that.

One thing with NaNo and the reason why I’m glad that it’s over is I have time to read again. I read a book in two days because I wanted to unwind from NaNo. Until Camp NaNo next year.

One Response to “The End of NaNoWriMo 2012”

  1. What they say is true, that it might not rain for a long, long time, but when it starts going, you’ll get a deluge. So I’m not quite building an ark yet, but some good things have been happening this week. Good news on several fronts – some fronts I’ve been patient on for quite awhile (and sometimes impatient – I’m not going to lie!), and other fronts I’ve just had good news that I needed for reassurance. So it’s been a really great week actually. Health? Check! Personal stuff? Check! Potential job news on the horizon? Check! (I said potential…) and writing?

Leave a Reply

