Yes, about that… / WriteMotivation Check In #2

So, because of Veteran’s Day I totally forgot about making a post. Plus I missed one (or two) last week. The only thing that I can say that NaNo truly sucks my gray matter out. It’s bad enough on a normal day but November is especially strong.

1: Keep up with NaNo and use the blog to keep track, maybe even give a six sentence snippet with each post.

26,233 / 50,000

That is my current word count as of this posting. I’m hoping to add much more by the time the 20th comes around because I’ve already been told that there are many things I will be doing with my family next week so my writing is going to dramatically slow down, plus I’ll be doing it via my Livescribe pen than on the computer. I don’t write as fast as I can type.

Snippet:

“Hey, feel free to go back to wherever you were. I’m sure they’ll put you back where you where and we can get done with whatever it is you guys were sent here to do.” Bridgette shrugged, shifting the basket in her hands. She heard Thor inhale to say something but before she could do anything, Loki was right in front of her, grabbing her chin in his fingers.

She gasped, one foot stepping backward but he had her locked in place as his gaze burned down into hers.
“Listen, and listen closely because I’m only going to say this once. You should be grateful and on your knees thanking us that we had come. Because if left to your own devices, you would flounder and be bowled under by the forces that will be coming here and do their own battle. They don’t care about you, they don’t care about anything so fragile and so easily broken as mortals. You have no idea how insignificant to us you are. You are mere specks of life on the beach that are ground under our foot. So do me a little favor, mortal, and don’t speak of things you have zero comprehension of. I will not hesitate to leave you behind, no matter what the Thunder God here thinks that we need you for. You can’t surpass anything that I can do. Do you understand?” His fingers tightened on her chin, digging into her flesh. “Because I’m not going to repeat myself ever again.”

“Loki. Unhand her now.”

“Do you understand?” The frost giant ignored Thor and stared down at Bridgette, green fire burning bright with contempt in the depths of his gaze.

“Crystal.” Bridgette ground the word out.

2: Work more on expanding the world that I’m basing my story on. (Most people would do this as prep, you know before NaNo. Not me, OH No!).

Yeah, brain = mush. Didn’t get much further on that than last time though I finally picked up a Norse Mythology book I’ve been wanting to get for a while.

3: Keep to the blogging 3x a week (Mon/Wed/Fri).

Yeah, I said above that I missed some.

4: On top of NaNo, keep up with the flash fiction contests all week.

I lost track of time last night so I missed the one when I was writing. I was trying to get ahead and had the tv off and the headphones in.

5. Actually pulling out my older NaNos and work on editing them, even if it is a page at a time.

Haven’t touched my previous one for the past week. Work has been crazy on top of just keeping up with word count.

Leave a Reply

