NaNoWriMo / #WriteMotivation Check In 1

So far, so good. I’m sitting here, about ready for bed and I remembered that I needed to do my check in. So here we go:

1: Keep up with NaNo and use the blog to keep track, maybe even give a six sentence snippet with each post.

Word Count: 10,199/50,000

Snippet:

(Guy) called Bridgette’s name again, tilting his head before racing to the far corner that was resting in the snow and grunting as he lifted it up with a gun. Muscles strained in his arms and neck as he pulled up on the heavy roof of the building.

There was some coughing and Brid came wiggling out from under it, her hand curled into a fist and splinters having scored across her face.

Mrs. Wilks made a sound “Bridgette! Are you okay? What happened? We heard this awful noise inside.”

I do have a name for (Guy) but I forgot it and I need to find my notes on what I actually called him. That or I did a drabble in October. *cough*

2: Work more on expanding the world that I’m basing my story on. (Most people would do this as prep, you know before NaNo. Not me, OH No!).

I have the map printed out but haven’t sat down yet to work on where things will be and what is in the area yet. I will need to do that because my two characters will be moving around.

3: Keep to the blogging 3x a week (Mon/Wed/Fri).

So far so good I have been doing it.

4: On top of NaNo, keep up with the flash fiction contests all week.

There is usually one on Mondays, Motivational Monday, but the gentleman who hosts it is also taking part in NaNo, plus he was affected by Superstorm Sandy as well so there wasn’t one today. Tomorrow is Tuesday Tales and 5 minute fiction but I might not be home for 5 minute because we’re going up to the barn tomorrow due to possibly getting snow sometime during the week.

5. Actually pulling out my older NaNos and work on editing them, even if it is a page at a time.

Nothing had gotten done on this yet because I couldn’t find the story I was working on previously. It would have upset me if I couldn’t find it because I was already 50 pages in with editing first round. But YAY I found it tonight and will be doing a couple pages before bed.


Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0. http://www.flickr.com/photos/sahlgoode

I will be looking at the other blogs on #WriteMotivation tomorrow and Wednesday night.

Leave a Reply

