Nightgale Pt 3 of 4

I need to catch up with everyone’s prompt from last week as well. I’m falling behind on my blogging duties. -_- Anyway, here is this weeks prompt.

PROMPT To Die and become one with Nature

Keats – “Darkling I listen, for many a time, I have been half in love with easeful Death, Call’d him soft names in many a mused rhyme, To take into the air my quiet breath; Now more than ever seems it rich to die;”(Ode To A Nightingale)

Geoff stumbled along the path, one hand clutching his abdomen. The laughter behind him didn’t do much to help to move much faster.

“What’s the matter, mate. You think you can get away from us? You thought we wouldn’t know what you were doing? You thought wrong. I’m going to make sure you don’t try to be the good guy.” White teeth gleamed in the dark light.

Geoff collapsed against a tree, bracing against a tree and shaking his head. “What did you put in my food?”

Nate tilted his head. “Why Geoffrey, are you accusing me of poisoning you?” He paused and put a foot out, pushing Geoff’s chest against the tree, pulling out a blade. “Don’t worry, I’ll make sure your lovely wife isn’t alone.” Nate smirked.

Geoff’s eyes shot open and he surged forward. “You keep your DAMN hands off of her!” Both hands reached out towards Nate’s neck.

The man chuckled and glanced down.

Geoff took a breath in but it was hard. He hadn’t been paying attention to the blade so he thrust himself onto it when he tried to get to Nate.

“Later, mate.” Nate pulled the blade back and Geoff’s body fell back against the tree. He turned around and whistled as he walked away.

Geoff gasped as he felt warm blood spill out and soak his shirt. He knew he should have turned down the job. But Sevah had a baby on the way. He figured a little extra money would help out. He brushed aside her worries with a laugh a kiss. His fingers curled around the root of the tree, looking up at the sky. The stars kept wavering in his vision.

“Sevah, I am so sorry. I wish I could be around for our child.” His breath rattled in his throat and he stilled, fingers clenched in their death grip around the tree as his blood seeped out into the ground.

* * *
The woman strode through the forest, clutching the small bundle“Sevah! Sevah, would you wait?”

“You have nothing that I want to hear, Nate. I said no the first time, and it’s still no.”

The man charged after her, grabbing hold of her arm as she reached the edge of the trees. “I only want to help you out. Geoff would want me to.”

Sevah jerked free and glared at him, blonde strands escaping from the braid trailing down her back. “It was your job to make sure he made it back. I can manage taking care of Philia just fine without getting married to the next man to come along. And you’re not the first.”

Nate scowled and let out a breath. “Would you please, sit down?”

She put a hand on her hip and glanced around, sitting down on the growth of the tree she stopped at. It had been a lovely day before he came along. The bundle fussed and she moved the fabric back so that the sun would shine on the little girl’s face.

“I know you still love Geoff. I’m just looking to help you take care of his baby. I think it would be better if you married me. I don’t expect a lot. I just want to help you.” Nate grinned at her.

Sevah frowned. She stared at him while Philia stared up at the leaves of the tree and started to giggle. “I don’t know-“ She stopped and looked down at her baby and followed her gaze upwards.

The tree didn’t look to have any other buds on it but there, color amongst the branches was a blue lily. They were hard to find. And they were her favorite. Geoff had wanted to name their child after the place that they had come from.

“No, I don’t think I will, Nate. In fact, I don’t think I want anything do to with you.” Sevah rose up, the little girl still looking at the flower. “Don’t ask me again.” She turned and walked away, leaving him opened mouthed.

Kind of a cheesy ending? I think I might have gone with a different ending if my jaw wasn’t bothering me right now.

6 Responses to “Nightgale Pt 3 of 4”

  1. The ending was fine. I thought it was going to lead to the tree’s having soaked up Geoff’s blood, assimilating him to some degree and then dropping a heavy branch onto Nate, killing him – kind of a combined karma AND revenge theme.

  2. I don’t think it’s cheesy… I like the touch of supernatural going on there (and it’s in keeping with the theme!)

  3. I can relate to the falling behind on blogging duties, I’m only making the rounds now myself.

    I liked the ending here, I liked the subtlety. You did a good job of showing Nate’s bond with the tree in his last moments–shoved against it, grasping it–so the connection made sense when it came, and was stronger I think for being nothing more than a flower where you might not expect it.

    I want to know more, hope that Sevah and Philia make it and somehow Nate gets his comeuppance–but I can also accept those things being beyond the scope of this story.

    • Thanks!

      (And I’m still so behind this week. >< I don't know what it is). I'm not sure if I want to do anything more or if I'm just going to leave it as is. I'm going to just let it sit a bit.

Leave a Reply

