Nightgale the 1st

Keats: “That I might drink, and leave the world unseen, And with thee fade away into the forest dim:” (Ode To A Nightingale)

January Blog Challenge

“There is nothing there.” Chandra frowned at Sam.

The girls sat on the swinging porch, taking turns pushing bare feet.

“Yes, there is. I’ve seen it every night. I think it’s a stalker but mom just yells at me and goes back to watching her tv.” A grimace and Sam turned a heavy switchblade around in her hands, thumb sliding up and down the onyx handle. “I think that she’d only notice if I was gone when there isn’t so much laundry to do.”

“You do most of it yourself, anyway.”

“Exactly.” Sam gave a shrug and pushed a flop of light brown hair out of her face.

“Well, here then.” Chandra reached down to where her bag sat and pulled out a bottle. “The good stuff. Trust me, you’ll like it.”

Sam made a face and glanced around before opening the bottle and taking a swing of it. “Blech, why does it taste so acrid.”

“It’s supposed to taste like that. After a few more sips, you won’t mind it.” Chandra smiled and stared at her, watching as her friend paled.

“You want some?” Sam offered the bottle back to her.

“No, I shouldn’t. They are checking me when I come home. I can keep it here, right?”

Another shrug and Sam took a sip before shoving the bottle back at her friend and leaning over the banister to vomit over what was left of her mother’s roses.

“Oh and maybe it was the poison I put in that makes it seem bad. Seems that you do have someone watching but…” Chandra snorted “I want him. He’s totally cute. He says he’s some kind of fae. I don’t remember. You were the one who was always interested in that. But he’s going to make me a god damn princess and I don’t have to listen to anyone every again. Cause I’ll be in charge. “ She grinned, getting up to pat Sam on the back. “Toodles, babe. Maybe I’ll name a wing of my new castle after you.”


And to edit yesterday’s post: A minimum of 200 words for the challenge. My fault on that. Enjoy!

8 Responses to “Nightgale the 1st”

  1. that is the awesome sauce. Did not see that coming at all.

  2. Great! Who woulda thought that her friend would send her to the afterlife to cover her tracks of leaving with the stalker fae? Got to be harsh for Sam to have her friend be all patting her back as she’s about to die.

  3. Wow, didn’t see that coming. My jaw is still on the ground. Poor Sam, makes me think of “with friends like these…”

  4. I actually read this as Sam vomiting up the poison. I could imagine her being sick… But I think Chandra’s in for a surprise when her friend ends up not being dead and still having that knife. But maybe that’s just how I read it.

    Love the conversational tone, and how you escalate from what sounds like underage drinking to betrayal/murder and then full fantasy. I like to think there is a fae stalker since I like fantasy, but I could also definitely see it as Chandra just being crazy.

    The switchblade with the onyx handle though makes me think Sam’s bad-ass enough to take a little poison. Great re-contextualization at the end for “After a few more sips, you won’t mind it.”

  5. Thanks. I’m not sure if I want to continue on with it or maybe change it around. I’ll have to sit on this to see which direction to go.

Leave a Reply

