Row Row Row ROW80 update

I’m doing this later than I usually am. I went up tonight and went to visit the horses since I hadn’t had a chance last week. The nice thing is that we now have lights in the outside ring so we can ride or drive if we want. I am still getting used to the Daylight savings though. It’s just that much harder to get out of bed when the alarm goes off because it’s still dark out. I don’t know why we do Daylight Savings really because teh farmers get up at 4 in the morning anyway, whether it’s light or dark. Eh, go figure.

Writing – Going pretty steady on my ROW commitment with the short story. Holding with between 300-400 words a day on it so I feel good about it. Granted, I know I’ll be cutting stuff but that is for then, this is now.

NaNo – I’m still going along even though the last two chapters I have not really felt enthused about at all. I know what the problem is. At least one of them is that this is a whole new word for me by using a Steampunk setting and I’m used to panting a lot. With this, using the same setting for different writings, I need to have some constants such as why this happens there or over there. So it takes some plotting. Which I haven’t done. Also, my one character is pretty good with a long rifle and doing distance shots. I’m not really familiar with guns as I”ve never handled one. That’s something that I’m going to have to research and elaborate on after this is all over. And since I’m not familiar with it, I think that’s what is slowing me down right now. Once I move past it, I’ll hopefully be better about the story.

I’ve also gotten into another flash fiction today. I’ve done one at Glitterword every Tuesday now and I found that there is also a Hump Day Flash fiction over at Tracey’s Tavern. Who knows what I might get out of doing those quick flashes.

On a blogging note, does anyone who uses WordPress know how to get a word counter widget to show on the side bar. I looked all over and I must be missing something on how to set it up. :/

This is a Blog Hop!

14 Responses to “Row Row Row ROW80 update”

  1. Hi, Nellie. Great work on the Short story. The “Two Week” wall is a killer of many a story in NaNo. Just push through it. I don’t have a word counter, so I can’t help you, but I bet Carrie Spencer can over at smartassromance.com check out her blog and ask her a question. Good luck. ~clink~

  2. I sent Woodie the WordPress Woodchuck (Carrie) an email, so hopefully he can help you out on the word counter. ~clink~

  3. This is the only one I’ve found that works: Add a Text Widget to your side bar, title it your WIP. In the Text area, paste this:

    1000 / 100000 words. 10% done!

    Obviously the 100000 needs to be changed to whatever your target is.Where you see the “1000” of the 100000 words, you update manually. And you need to update the % number manually as well. Whenever you want to update, go to your dashboard, click open the text widget and just type over with your new figures.

    I can’t figure out how to get any of the other codes to work properly. If you want to get really into it, you can change the colors – where you see #33FFFF and #000000 and things like that are the color codes – you can find color wheels online what will give you these codes for any color you wish.

    Hope that helps!

  4. Ok, wait, don’t paste that! It converted it back into the counter. Hmmmm. . . I just went to the FB ROW page and posted the command there…you should be able to copy and paste it into your widget area from there.

  5. There’s a WC meter plugin for WP but I hate it. There’s tons of free WC meters out there though. Rant Rave Write is correct though. If your theme supports Widgets, create a text widget, name it WIP and then paste the code you get from one of the WC meters into it.

    I have one that I created for my site but I’m not going to pimp mine πŸ˜‰ I do however recommend WC meters like:

    http://svenja.atspace.com/wordmeter.html
    http://languageisavirus.com/nanowrimo/word-meter.html

  6. I just forwarded Carrie’s email on the word counter code. I hope it helps.

  7. I’m sorry to hear you’re having the two week blah’s….but whatever you do…keep writing. It’ll pass. That’s one of the smartest things my mother ever told me….

    As for the word count widget…I don’t know a whole lot about wordpress…but check out ‘On The Job Writing’. Author Matt Hofferth is a techie for sure! Maybe he can help you out. Have you googled it? That’s how I’ve learned to do lots of things on blogger.

    Hope your weekend is starting off nicely…I’m off to write, write, write…lol.

Leave a Reply

