Write Campaign – Second Challenge

The second campaign challenge from Rachael Harrie.

The Challenge is:

Write a blog post in 200 words or less, excluding the title. It can be in any format, whether flash fiction, non-fiction, humorous blog musings, poem, etc. The blog post should:

* include the word “imago” in the title
* include the following 4 random words: “miasma,” “lacuna,” “oscitate,” “synchronicity,”

If you want to give yourself an added challenge (optional and included in the word count), make reference to a mirror in your post.

For those who want an even greater challenge (optional), make your post 200 words EXACTLY!

Imago the Night

“I thought we’d never get here. Why can’t we stay in a hotel?”

Timothy signed as he gave a long stretch before oscitating. Heaven help him from spoiled model cum actresses. He got stuck with ones who had heads that were lacuna. Miranda especially so. He counted the minutes when she complained that her trailer wasn’t as good as the others.

She gave a gasp, staring at the paper. A large headline splashed with MURDER ON THE ISLAND.

“Oh my god! I hope the shoot isn’t ruined.” Nevermind the miasma of the event.

He glanced over her shoulder, shaking his head. One arm slid around her shoulders and he lead her to the car that sat waiting for them. “I’m sure we’ll be safe. There are a lot of people around. Just don’t go out alone. The shoots are going to be at night. Things will be fine. Don’t worry about it.”

Miranda let out a breath and slid into the car, flipping open a compact to check make-up that didn’t really need to be checked. “Good, I would hate for the job to be ruined.”

“Trust me.” Tim grinned, elongated eyeteeth gleaming in the low light. “It’s total synchronicity.”

=====

This challenge was a lot more…well challenging than the first one.

If you could be so kind, mine is #122 on the list.

Edit: And because I was a dork and forgot one word, I fixed that. Oi.

24 Responses to “Write Campaign – Second Challenge”

  1. This was really difficult wasn’t it? I think you did a great job though. Great surprise ending. 🙂 Mine is 119.

  2. I found this really challenging too. nice job. Mine is #29

  3. Fantastic! And super creepy!

    Love it!

  4. Ooh! An island. Already my interest is piqued. I’d totally read on.

    Great job, Nellie! 🙂

  5. LOL Good story! I like the last line about elongated eyeteeth – is he a vampire, then?

  6. This WAS challenging. I’m #127 if you wish to check it out. Great job. 🙂

  7. Great job! This was a really tough challange. I liked your ending, very interesting.

  8. With all those references to a shoot, I thought he was going to pull out a gun, and he pulled out his teeth instead. Wait, I mean he showed his teeth. Whatever, you did a good job with the words and the story, leading us down the wrong path. I’m too addled to remember if you read mine. If not, I’m number 52. If you go through my homepage, you’ll also see the chocolate follower contest tab.

  9. I think Miranda might just have something coming for her . . . LOL.

    My entry.

  10. Jana Denardo Says:

    I really enjoyed this.

  11. Oh the poor long-suffering vamp 🙂 Great job working those challenge words in.

  12. Shiver. I liked this and am voting now. Good job! I’m 125.

  13. Wow. You did a great job of making the dumb come through. I almost won’t feel bad…lol. Great job!

    #189

Leave a Reply

