Zoho Writer

This time I’m trying something new.  I found it on one of the blogs that Rebekah has on her blog and I saw them mention the Zoho Writer.  I might still use it or I might not.  I’m all for trying new things and this will post to WordPress.  I also read that it can be used to collaborate with someone else if people are doing joint writing.  It lets you track changes and all that fun stuff.  I guess it’s like Google Docs but I don’t know if Google Docs allows for changes between two different people like Zoho does.

That being said, has anyone ever co-written a story with anyone?  I haven’t really tried it.  I did a journal with a friend who lives in California and we would mail it back and forth for something different but we kind of forgot about it.  I’d have to ask if she still had the journal as I think it was her turn when I remembered about it.  

I thought it would be interesting once upon a time but not sure how my style or writing would mesh with someone else’s or if it just wouldn’t work out.  WIth myself, I know that my original work is very, very, very rough.  Someone else might be a little more smoother.

I can imagine that it’s like roleplaying, only you’re writing a bit more than an average roleplayer might post about.

PS:  And what I see about Zoho Writer is that it can post to LJ, WordPress, Blogger and Typepad.  Wonder if I can add Dreamwidth since LJ and Dreamwidth are linked together.


Edit: Can’t get it to work with DW. And another thing I’ll have to figure out is if it allows you to make subject lines.

2 Responses to “Zoho Writer”

  1. Nellie,

    Thank you so much for getting in contact with me through my blog. I’m trying my best to make my rounds to my fellow Campaigners, but with work and now university on the horizon, it’s already been a challenge! I’m going to try my damnedest to keep up!

    This post particularly interested me, because you mentioned two things — co-writing and roleplaying. My better half and I actually met through — wait, hold your snickers! — an online text-based roleplaying game where writers developed their own individual characters and interacted. We’ve been best friends for almost fifteen years now, and we co-write plenty of never-to-see-the-light-of-day stories and tales.

    About two years ago, before we moved in together, we tried our hand at writing a young adult fantasy book involving these two characters. Our grand plan was that the story would be told in alternating first-person sequences that progressed the story. While we never got through but seventy or eighty pages due to our own individual writing projects, it was fascinating to try to bring together two entirely disparate characters. We discovered that our writing styles were so very unalike, and while compatible, it wasn’t something we were quite prepared for just yet!

    All that aside, I say this because I believe co-writing really takes a lot of planning between the two storytellers and a lot of sacrifice, too. There were things that I needed to let her write; there were things she needed to let me write. I’d love to give it a shot again, but at a time when we can both dedicate ourselves fully to the cause!

    I hope if you explore the idea of co-writing a novel with somebody, it works wonderfully for you! I look forward to interacting with you during the Campaign!

    – Rance

    • Hi Rance!

      That’s pretty awesome that you met like that. I can say that doing text based RP has been something that I haven’t done in a long while. *clutches snickers* At least you gave it a go and figured out that it wouldn’t work than try to force it. 🙂

      I haven’t found anyone yet to try a co-writing project but I’ll still keep going until it might come up.

      Look forward to reading your posts.

      Nellie

Leave a Reply

